- September 18, 2022
- Vehicle Accidents
No one is ever prepared to be injured in a car crash, but thankfully, the state of Texas requires individuals who drive to carry auto insurance. This will protect both parties who are involved in an auto wreck. Continue reading to learn more about what the minimum auto insurance requirements are in Texas and how you’ll file an injury claim if you are harmed in a vehicle accident.
Texas Auto Insurance Requirements
In Texas, you will need to carry a minimum insurance of $30,000 in liability coverage per person, $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 in property damage liability coverage. There are many other types of coverage available that are not required by law, including personal injury protection, collision, comprehensive, and uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage, to name a few.
It’s important to keep in mind that just because 30/60/25 coverage is the minimum, that amount won’t necessarily cover all of your costs when you are involved in a Texas auto accident. For this reason, it would be well-advised to up your coverage limits or add some of the additional types of coverage that we have described above to your policy.
Which Insurer You’ll File a Claim With
The first call you will want to make after you’ve been injured in a collision is to your attorney. Your lawyer will be able to advise you from there based on the individual circumstances of your crash.
Next you will file a claim with your own insurance provider, and they will likely cover your damages up to the limits of your policy without question, as they can pursue repayment for your settlement from the at-fault party’s insurance provider.
You will also need to file a claim with the liable party’s auto insurance company, who will also be obligated to compensate you for the damages you sustained in the crash. Your lawyer can handle all negotiations with the insurance provider to ensure that you get the most out of your Texas accident claim.
Call a Texas Car Accident Lawyer
There is no reason why you should be expected to cover your own losses when you aren’t responsible for causing the auto accident. Work with a Texas vehicle accident lawyer at Crain Brogdon, LLP. for assistance in securing the compensation you deserve.
You can schedule your complimentary case review today by completing the quick contact form we have included below or by calling our firm directly at 214-522-9404 .
Attorney Quentin Brogdon
Quentin Brogdon has over thirty years of experience and expertise in the field of personal injury trial law. He is board certified in both personal injury trial law and civil trial advocacy. Quentin has received an AV rating from Martindale-Hubbell, the highest possible rating. This rating reflects an attorney’s ethics and abilities according to reviews from fellow attorneys. [ Attorney Bio ]